Welcome to Favorites!

Favorites is visual speed-dial for calls, SMS and email that's right at home on your iPhone.

Favorites screenshot

This tutorial will show you how to use Favorites - please read it!

If you need more help you can also visit our online support site.

Settings

Favorites has various settings which control how it behaves, and you can customize these to suit you.

You can find these settings in the Settings application. Just press your iPhone's Home button, then tap the Settings application, then find Favorites in the list and tap it.

Home button  →  Settings app

Favorites Settings

The settings include whether to show names below each favorite's picture, what action to perform when you tap a favorite, and more.

Adding Favorites

When you first launch Favorites you won't have any favorites yet, so the first thing to do is add one. You add a favorite by pressing the + button at the top-right of the screen.

Add button

You'll then see the favorite-editing view and a list of your contacts will automatically be shown.

flag

You can edit your contacts using the Contacts application.

When you've chosen a contact from the list, you can then edit the options for your new favorite. The top portion of the favorite-editing view is shown below.

Favorites editing
flag

You can tap the top section (with the contact's name and picture) to choose a different contact for this favorite whenever you like.

The next option is for the displayed name of your contact. Tap it to choose a displayed name. Favorites will automatically provide a selection of suitable names, including the contact's nickname if one is specified. You can also enter a name of your choice.

Edit label

The third option lets you choose an optional badge (icon) to show on top of the contact's picture.

Edit badge

The remaining three options let you choose which number to use when calling this favorite, which number to use when sending an SMS, and which email address to use when sending an email.

Edit numbers
flag

Tip: If you want to disable a certain function (such as SMS) for a favorite, just choose "None" for the appropriate number or email address.

When you're done choosing options for your favorite, tap the Save button at the top-right and your new favorite will be added. Favorites will automatically resize your favorites so that they all fit on screen. You can have up to 16 favorites.

Favorites screenshot 3x3
flag

Reminder: You can edit your contacts using the Contacts application!

Using Favorites

Now that you've created some favorites, you're ready to go. By default, when you tap a favorite, it will perform the Default Action, which is initially set to Call.

When you double-tap a favorite, it will show the Overlay.

Overlay

You can use the Overlay to directly call, SMS or email the contact. You can also tap the Options button to change the options for this favorite.

flag

You can use the Settings application to choose whether the Default Action is Call, SMS or Email.

You can also choose whether the Default Action is triggered when you tap or double-tap (the other action will trigger the Overlay).

If a contact has no number or email address specified for the Default Action, the Overlay will be shown instead.

When you tap the Call, SMS or Email buttons in the Overlay, you'll see the relevant phone number or email address shown above the buttons.

Overlay numbers

If a contact has no number or email address for an action, the relevant button will be disabled.

Moving and Deleting Favorites

You can move your favorites around, and even delete them entirely, using Edit Mode. You can enter Edit Mode by tapping the Edit button at the top-left of the main screen.

Edit button

Edit Mode works just like your iPhone's Home screen. You can drag favorites around with your finger to move them! (The other favorites will automatically move out of the way.)

Rearranging favorites

If you want to delete a favorite, tap the X button at its top-left corner. You will be asked if you're sure you want to delete it permanently.

Delete confirmation
flag

Once you tap Delete in the confirmation window, the favorite will be deleted.

But you can always make a new one!

When you've finished moving and deleting your favorites, you can exit Edit Mode by pressing the Done button at the top-left of the screen.

Done button

Seeing this Tutorial again

You can see this tutorial whenever you want to, by tapping the Tutorial button in the About screen. You can show the About screen by pressing the small info-button at the bottom-right of the main screen.

Info button
flag

You can also use the Settings application to make the Tutorial show automatically the next time you launch Favorites.

Getting More Help

If you need some more help with Favorites, we'd love to hear from you! You have several choices:

We'll be happy to help out.

Credits

Favorites was created by your good friends at Instinctive Code, and we love each and every one of you!

flag

Instinctive Code is available to help with your iPhone and Mac OS X development projects.

You can see more credits in the About screen, if you like that sort of thing.

First of all, a huge thanks to YOU for buying a copy of Favorites - we really appreciate it, and we also think you're extremely attractive!

We'd like to thank the Kombine Group for the icons used in this tutorial.

We'd also like to thank Neil Hunt Inglis of Dardan Software for his valuable feedback during development - be sure to check out his iPhone apps too.

If you have suggestions about how we can make Favorites even better, don't hesitate to get in touch!


Favorites is © 2009 Instinctive Code.